BenefitsUSA
Back to Blog
GuideNovember 3, 2026·12 min read·By Jacob Posner

$90 Medicare Rebate 2026: Who Gets It and Who Is Left Out

CMS paid a one-time $90 Part B rebate in October 2026 to 20.8 million Original Medicare enrollees. Who qualifies, when it paid, and who was excluded.

The $90 Medicare rebate is a one-time payment of $90 that the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) sent in October 2026 to offset that month's Part B premium. CMS says about 20.8 million people qualify: people in Original Medicare Part B who live in the United States, do not get Medicaid help paying their Medicare premium, and do not pay the income-related surcharge called IRMAA. People in Medicare Advantage are not eligible. There is nothing to apply for. Most eligible people got a direct deposit from Social Security around October 8, 2026, and the rest get a paper Treasury check later in October.

This guide covers who got the payment, how it arrived, what the deposit or check looks like, and the large groups the rule leaves out. Every figure below comes from the CMS fact sheet "Medicare Improvement Fund Premium Rebate: Frequently Asked Questions" (October 3, 2026) and the Medicare.gov page on the rebate letter, unless another source is named.

The $90 rebate at a glance

QuestionAnswer (CMS)
How much?$90, paid once
What is it for?To offset the October 2026 Part B premium
Who is eligible?Original Medicare Part B enrollees living in the U.S. who get no Medicaid premium help and pay no IRMAA
How many people?About 20.8 million
Medicare Advantage?Not eligible
Do I have to apply?No
How is it paid?Most by direct deposit from the Social Security Administration; others by paper check from the U.S. Treasury
When?Direct deposits around October 8, 2026; paper checks later in October 2026
Where does the money come from?The Medicare Improvement Fund
Check eligibility1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227)
Check payment statusSocial Security, 1-800-772-1213, from October 15, 2026

On Medicare? You may qualify for help that lowers your costs.

Many people on Medicare qualify for programs that lower their premiums and out-of-pocket costs but never claim them. We check what you qualify for in about 3 minutes.

Free · 3 minutes · No SSN to start

See what I can get

Who qualifies for the $90 Medicare rebate

CMS set four conditions. You had to meet all of them.

  1. You are enrolled in Original Medicare Part B. Original Medicare is the government-run Part A and Part B program, sometimes called fee-for-service Medicare. Many people in it also carry a Medicare Supplement (Medigap) policy or a stand-alone Part D drug plan. Those extra policies do not disqualify you, because you are still in Original Medicare.
  2. You live in the United States.
  3. You do not get Medicaid help with your Medicare premium. If your state's Medicaid program pays your Part B premium, you are excluded.
  4. You do not pay an Income-Related Monthly Adjustment Amount (IRMAA). IRMAA is the extra amount higher-income people pay on top of the standard Part B premium.

If you meet all four, CMS's records should already have you on the list. The payment uses information Medicare and Social Security already hold, including your direct deposit account and the mailing address registered with Medicare.

Is the rebate a monthly payment?

No. CMS describes it as one $90 rebate in October 2026. It does not change the standard Part B premium, which is $202.90 a month in 2026 according to CMS's 2026 Parts A and B fact sheet. That works out to $2,434.80 for the year, so the $90 covers a little less than half of one month's premium. CMS has not announced any second payment.

When the $90 paid, and how it arrives

There are two ways the money reaches people, depending on whether Social Security already has a bank account for you.

How you get Social Security or pay MedicareHow the $90 arrivesTiming (CMS)
Social Security pays you by direct depositDirect deposit from the Social Security AdministrationOn or around October 8, 2026
No direct deposit on filePaper check from the U.S. Department of the Treasury, mailed to the address registered with MedicareLater in October 2026

CMS says most eligible people get the direct deposit. After the deposit, CMS says people get an email or letter from the President in mid-October. Medicare.gov also posted a sample of the one-time premium rebate letter so people can recognize it.

What the deposit or check says

CMS says the payment is labeled "Medicare Improvement Fund Payment; $90 Payment to Offset October Premium." If you see a $90 deposit with a "Medicare Improvement Fund" description on your bank statement, that is this rebate. Your bank may shorten the description, so the exact text on your statement can vary.

If you have not received it

The checks were due to mail later in October, so a missing check in early November may still be in the mail. CMS lists two phone numbers, and they do different jobs:

  • To ask whether you are eligible: call 1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227).
  • To ask about the status of a payment: call Social Security at 1-800-772-1213. CMS says this line started taking rebate status questions on October 15, 2026.

Before you call, check that Medicare has your current mailing address. A check mailed to an old address is the most likely reason a paper payment does not show up.

Who is left out of the $90 rebate

The eligible group is a minority of people with Medicare. KFF counts 64.2 million Medicare beneficiaries, and the Associated Press, citing KFF, reported that fewer than one-third of them qualify for the rebate. These are the main groups excluded.

GroupEligible for the $90?Why (CMS rule)Approximate size (AP reporting)
Original Medicare Part B, no Medicaid premium help, no IRMAA, living in the U.S.YesMeets all four conditions20.8 million (CMS)
Medicare Advantage (Part C) enrolleesNoCMS says Medicare Advantage enrollees are not eligibleAbout 35 million
People whose Part B premium is paid by Medicaid (Medicare Savings Programs, many dual eligibles)NoExcluded as Medicaid premium assistanceAbout 12 million
People who pay IRMAANoExcluded as IRMAA payersNot reported
People who live outside the U.S.NoMust live in the United StatesNot reported
People with Part A only (no Part B)NoThe rebate offsets a Part B premiumNot reported

Medicare Advantage members

This is the largest excluded group. Medicare Advantage plans are private plans that replace Original Medicare, and AP reported that they cover more than half of all beneficiaries. Even though Medicare Advantage members still pay the Part B premium, CMS's rule leaves them out.

People who get Medicaid help with the premium

If you are in a Medicare Savings Program (QMB, SLMB or QI) or have full Medicaid and your state pays your Part B premium, you did not get the $90. In most cases you already pay $0 for Part B, so the state is covering the whole $202.90 every month instead of $90 once. Our guide on how your state can pay your $202.90 Medicare premium explains those programs and their income limits.

This exclusion also points to something useful for people who did get the $90. If you received the rebate, you are by definition not in a Medicare Savings Program. If your income and savings are modest, check whether you qualify. A Medicare Savings Program is worth far more than a one-time $90.

People who pay IRMAA

IRMAA applies when your modified adjusted gross income from two years earlier is above a threshold. For 2026 premiums, the first IRMAA bracket starts above $109,000 for a single filer and $218,000 for a married couple filing jointly, based on 2024 tax returns. If you pay any IRMAA amount, you were excluded. Our IRMAA 2026 explainer covers the brackets and how to appeal if your income has dropped.

People outside the United States

CMS limited the rebate to beneficiaries who live in the United States. If Medicare or Social Security has a foreign address on file for you, expect no payment.

Where the money comes from

CMS says the $90 is paid from the Medicare Improvement Fund. According to CMS, Section 7002 of the Supplemental Appropriations Act of 2008 created the fund for improvements to Original Medicare, Parts A and B. CMS says Congress has drawn on the fund about 20 times to offset other spending, including $20.7 billion in 2010, citing the Congressional Budget Office. AP reported the rebate costs about $2 billion in total.

The payment is not a refund of premiums you overpaid, and it is not money taken from the Medicare trust funds. It is a single payment from this separate fund.

Things the CMS FAQ does not say

Some common questions have no official answer yet. CMS's FAQ does not say:

  • whether the $90 is taxable income
  • whether it counts as income for programs such as SSI, SNAP or Medicaid
  • whether a second payment will follow

If you get SSI or other benefits with strict income rules and are worried about reporting, ask the agency that runs the benefit how it treats this payment. For tax questions, ask a tax preparer or the IRS. Do not rely on rules from older payments, such as the 2020 stimulus checks, because those came from different laws.

Watch out for scams

Because the rebate pays automatically, nobody needs your Medicare number, Social Security number or bank details to send it to you. Medicare.gov tells people to guard their Medicare number like a credit card and not to give it to unexpected callers. Treat any call, text or email that asks you to "claim" or "activate" a $90 Medicare payment, or asks for a fee, as a scam. To report a suspicious contact, call 1-800-MEDICARE.

What the $90 means for 2027 costs

The rebate covers part of one month in 2026. It does not lock in or lower any 2027 cost. CMS had not published the 2027 Part B premium or deductible when this article was written, and CMS usually announces them in November. Projections circulating online come from the Medicare Trustees Report and are not the official premium.

Medicare's Open Enrollment runs October 15 to December 7 each year. If you are in Original Medicare and comparing your options for 2027, the rebate itself should not drive the decision, because it was a one-time payment tied to a single month. Our Medigap explainer covers how supplement coverage works alongside Original Medicare.

Quick checklist

  1. Confirm you were in Original Medicare Part B in October 2026, not Medicare Advantage.
  2. Confirm your state does not pay your Part B premium and you do not pay IRMAA.
  3. Look for a $90 deposit around October 8, 2026, labeled "Medicare Improvement Fund Payment."
  4. No deposit? Watch the mail for a Treasury check sent later in October.
  5. Still nothing? Call 1-800-MEDICARE about eligibility, or Social Security at 1-800-772-1213 about payment status.
  6. Make sure Medicare has your current mailing address.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who gets the $90 Medicare rebate?

CMS says about 20.8 million people qualify: people in Original Medicare Part B who live in the United States, do not get Medicaid help with their Medicare premium, and do not pay IRMAA. People in Medicare Advantage do not qualify.

When was the $90 Medicare payment sent?

Most eligible people got a direct deposit from Social Security on or around October 8, 2026. People without direct deposit get a paper check from the U.S. Treasury, which CMS said would go out later in October 2026.

Do I need to apply for the $90 Medicare rebate?

No. The payment goes out automatically using the bank account and mailing address that Social Security and Medicare already have on file. Anyone asking you to sign up or pay a fee for it is running a scam.

Why didn't I get the $90 if I have Medicare Advantage?

CMS's rules exclude Medicare Advantage enrollees, even though they pay the Part B premium. The rebate is limited to Original Medicare Part B.

Is the $90 Medicare rebate a monthly payment?

No. CMS describes it as one $90 rebate in October 2026 to offset that month's Part B premium. The standard Part B premium stays at $202.90 a month for 2026, and CMS has not announced another payment.

What does the $90 deposit say on my bank statement?

CMS says the payment is labeled "Medicare Improvement Fund Payment; $90 Payment to Offset October Premium." Your bank may shorten that description.

I am in a Medicare Savings Program. Why was I left out?

The rebate excludes people who get Medicaid help with their Medicare premium, and that includes Medicare Savings Programs. In most cases those programs already pay your full Part B premium each month, which is worth much more than $90.

Who do I call about the $90 Medicare rebate?

For eligibility, call 1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227). For the status of a payment, call Social Security at 1-800-772-1213, which CMS says began handling these questions on October 15, 2026.

Is the $90 Medicare rebate taxable?

CMS's FAQ does not say. Ask a tax preparer or the IRS before you file your 2026 return, and ask any benefits agency you report income to how it treats the payment.

Sources: CMS, "Medicare Improvement Fund Premium Rebate: Frequently Asked Questions" (October 3, 2026); Medicare.gov, "One-time premium rebate letter"; CMS, "2026 Medicare Parts A & B Premiums and Deductibles" (November 14, 2025); Associated Press reporting citing KFF (October 8, 2026). This article is informational and is not tax or legal advice. BenefitsUSA is not affiliated with any government agency.

The average person finds $16,900 a year in benefits they qualify for.

See your real number, and how to claim each one. Some you apply for yourself, and we tell you exactly where.

Free · 3 minutes · No SSN to start

See what I can get